Historical Notes

Annual Research Conferences

In December 1980, under the leadership of Gene B. Martin (then Past-President) and Bob F. Perkins (then President), the first Annual Research Conference convened in Houston, Texas. Its theme was "Geology of the Woodbine and Tuscaloosa Formations" and it was fully subscribed at 300 registrants.

In 1999, The Foundation's Board of Trustees posthumously renamed the conference series after Bob F. Perkins, who was Executive Director of The Foundation from its inception in 1981 until his death in 1999. The importance of the role he played in the Section and Foundation is discussed in the memorial to Dr. Perkins.

Fellowship Grants

In 2002, The Foundation awarded the first Fellowship Grant for Graduate Studies in Earth Science, and these carry the name of Honorary and Distinguished Member Edward B. Picou, Jr.

About the GCSSEPM Foundation

Founded in 1981, the GCSSEPM Foundation is a tax-exempt, nonprofit, autonomous organization that cooperates very closely with the GCSSEPM in achieving their common objectives. The Foundation is also closely associated with the SEPM, GCAGS, and local universities. The Foundation's activities include the following:

The primary means for carrying out these objectives is the hosting of our annual Research Conference in early December. The conferences include papers, poster sessions, and core reviews on current and relevant oil-related topics. The conferences began in 1980 and as of 1982, they were conducted under the umbrella of the GCSSEPM Foundation. In addition, The Foundation assumed the publication function for all conference papers, field trip guides, type locality descriptions, and all other papers.